Google translate API error in MemoQ: (403) Forbidden
Thread poster: Ehsan Karimi

Ehsan Karimi
Iran
Member (2014)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Dec 8, 2016

I've been using the Google Translate API in MemoQ for a couple of years but I have been receiving this error for the past few weeks: "A network error occurred: The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden". I've tried creating new keys and adding my billing information again but the problem wasn't solved. Does anyone have any idea what I should do to address this issue?

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:55
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
So tempted.... Dec 8, 2016

...to express how wrong I think it is to use Google Translate in general, not only because of the appalling translation quality (which in most cases makes you waste time fixing things instead of translating from scratch), but also because of privacy concerns in the long run about storage of your customers materials without authorisation, or because MT of this kind causes so many problems with terminology, pragmatics, theme/rheme, etc.

I am so happy I can control myself and keep my mouth shut!

Ehsan Karimi
Iran
Member (2014)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I don't use it for all my translations Dec 8, 2016

Tomás Cano Binder, CT wrote:

...to express how wrong I think it is to use Google Translate in general, not only because of the appalling translation quality (which in most cases makes you waste time fixing things instead of translating from scratch), but also because of privacy concerns in the long run about storage of your customers materials without authorisation, or because MT of this kind causes so many problems with terminology, pragmatics, theme/rheme, etc.

I am so happy I can control myself and keep my mouth shut!

Dear Tomás