Open only assigned segments in server project
Thread poster: Nico Wagner

Nico Wagner  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 06:59
Portuguese to German
+ ...
Mar 4

Hello forum,

I am working on a server project, in which 50% of a large document is assigned to me. Is there a way to open only my part in the translation editor? So far, I can only open the entire document, and the segments not assigned to me appear as locked, but for some reason can't be filtered out by selecting only unlocked segments.

Any input is appreciated

Thank you,
Nico


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Gabriel Ninô  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 02:59
English to Portuguese
+ ...
workaround Mar 5

I've once suggested Kilgray to treat unassigned rows as locked rows, but they probably didn't like the idea, since they didn't change that.

What I can think of as an workaround would be adding a generic, easy identifiable text to all your empty fields, then filter them. But it should be done at the start

For example, ctrl+shift+a (select all), then ctrl+shift+s (copy source to target). Don't confirm, but don't delete them either. Then, create a view with advanced options based on "Conflicts and changes" >> "Last changed..." >> "Modified after". Then you open the view and clear all translations.

If you already started, you could make sure all started rows are confirmed and then clearing all translations before following the steps above.

Unfortunately, I don't have a project where I can test it now, but it's an idea.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Nico Wagner  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 06:59
Portuguese to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Mar 5

Hi Gabriel,

thank you for your suggestion, I might give it a try.

Don't you think the rows edited by the other translator will start to appear in my view once they edit them? Or are the views static after creation?

Best,
Nico


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Gabriel Ninô  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 02:59
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Forgot to mention... Mar 5

You should turn auto-sync off before doing this, just to make sure you'll only see your modifications.

But once the view is created, it does not update (not even if you want it to, which is a shame).


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Open only assigned segments in server project

Advanced search






Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »
TM-Town
Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business

Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search