Thread poster: Ivana Friis Wilson

Ivana Friis Wilson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:15
Member (2008)
English to Danish
+ ...
Jun 9, 2008

I have been using Metatexis for a while now (my first CAT tool, I am a newbie) and I m very happy with it.

Recently a client asked to have the uncleaned files and TM for a translation. No problem, I thought. I had awful trouble! First of all, the unclean file was enourmous, I have to give up emailing it and ended up uploading it to yousendit (great service btw) so the client could fetch it himself. I realised that the file was so large bacuse of the TM - because when I wanted to extract the TM, it turns out that I have been using the same TM right from the beginning! I thought I had created a new TM with every new translation, but no, it has been saving in one TM only. I enver managed to extract the TM, but it did seem that it came with the unclean file, so my client got my one large TM in the bargainicon_wink.gif

Anyone know why that is? I have been reading through the manual and I can't work out what I am doing wrong. The only thing I can think of is that I am still using the trial version (for some reason it's still valid and I have just been too lazy to buy it..).

So basically I am asking for help setting up separate TMs for each project and also I would like to extract individual TMs from the one TM I have been using so far.

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 06:15
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Hi Ivana Jun 9, 2008

In case the client wants an uncleaned file along with the TM, I usually do what follows:

1) Translate the document using an appropriate TM (some of my TMs are quite large, several hundreds MB); please note that the TM may grow enormously if you use saving format in RTF