Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Issue of invoices from UK to EU customers without VAT
Thread poster: Raffaella Magi McCann (X)
Raffaella Magi McCann (X)
Raffaella Magi McCann (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:17
English to Italian
+ ...
Apr 7, 2008

Dear All

I was trying to find the answer to my query in the past forums but I couldn't find anything. So I apologise in advance if the issue I am going to talk about has been discussed before.

First, I would like to say that I have been working as freelance translator for several years and this is the first time that a client asked me to add the VAT number on my invoice. I am a UK resident, I pay my taxes here and, of course, I have to follow the UK taxation law. Accord
... See more
Dear All

I was trying to find the answer to my query in the past forums but I couldn't find anything. So I apologise in advance if the issue I am going to talk about has been discussed before.

First, I would like to say that I have been working as freelance translator for several years and this is the first time that a client asked me to add the VAT number on my invoice. I am a UK resident, I pay my taxes here and, of course, I have to follow the UK taxation law. According to such law, a legal self employed (like me) which doesn't reach a yearly turnover of £50,000 (or £60,000, I don't remember the exact value) can't apply for a VAT number. I can legally work as translator being registered as self employed, having a NI number as tax code and not issuing invoices with VAT. My client is in Spain and he said that without my VAT number he can't process my invoice.

Is anybody there able to explain who is wrong and what I can add in my invoice to explain that the UK law doesn't let me have a VAT number (I wish I could reach £50,000 turnover!!).

Thanks alot in advance!

Raffy
Collapse

smvasc
smvasc
Spain
Local time: 13:17
English to Spanish
+ ...
NI number.... Apr 7, 2008

Hiya,