Thread poster: Samy Direm
Samy Direm
France
Local time: 04:41
Arabic to English
+ ...
May 26, 2008

Hello,

I am a translator of Arabic. Someone has approached to me to do a transcription from Arabic which I have never done. Can some one tell me what the current rate is for transcription in the USA, Canada and Europe.

Thanks,
Samy

Direct link Reply with quote

KSL Berlin  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 03:41
Member (2003)
German to English
+ ...
Hourly rate May 26, 2008

Samy Direm wrote:
Can some one tell me what the current rate is for transcription in the USA, Canada and Europe.

How about just charging your usual hourly rate for services?

Alicia Casal  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 00:41
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Per minute May 26, 2008

We charge per minute.

is it transcripion or transcription+translation?

Spanish speaker: 120-150 words per minute.

[Edited at 2008-05-26 18:43]

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 21:41
Spanish to English
+ ...
Charge according to your own rates May 26, 2008

How much would you make in an hour if you were translating instead of transcribing?

The idea is that you should earn approximately the same amount of money in a given time period whether you are translating and charging by the volume of text, or transcribing and charging by time. It doesn't make sense to price yourself cheaper by one method than the other. Thus, don't set your time rate based on what people charge in other countries, but on your own scale of rates.

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:41
English to Spanish
+ ...
Be Careful May 26, 2008