Literary vs. commercial pay rate
Thread poster: Henry Hinds

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:23
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 17, 2008

"The translator will be credited in the book and should expect a literary rather than commercial pay rate."

Seen recently in a job posting. Just what would this mean in terms of cash?

All opinions are welcome...

Direct link Reply with quote

Juliana Brown  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 01:23
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
I was just pondering the same posting. Jun 18, 2008

I was intrigued at first (though I can't quote), because the book deals with a subject which I studied for many years, but the same phrase you mention brought me up short.
I happen to be spending my evening alternating among a novel and another book (on educational reform) which I'm translating, and strange to say...I'm being paid the same highly enjoyable amount per word for both. Unusual? Nope, not really.
I find it interesting though that the price for the text will be decided based on "literary" rates, given it is not fiction as far as I can tell. Maybe the next time I'm offered a legal doc I should quote based on the rate for biotech translations?

On the other hand...the translator is guaranteed "quite a racy read". That should make up for the rate, right? One of the perks of the job.

Jack Qin  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:23
English to Chinese
+ ...
My understanding Jun 18, 2008

The job poster would like to put the translator's name on the book to be published. In this way, the rates will be lower than usual.

If the field to be translated is my taste, I can accept the offer.

Jack

The Misha
Russian to English
+ ...
They want to pay less, of course Jun 18, 2008

Otherwise, why would they bother making a distinction? Supposedly, the book credit is an extra benefit that would make up for smaller pay. Go tell that to your landlord or your grocer ...

Jan Willem van Dormolen  Identity Verified