How much to charge for the translation of a doctorate thesis?
Thread poster: johannad

johannad
Local time: 13:33
English to French
+ ...
Jun 27, 2008

Hi there,
I am quite new in the translation business and I find it sometimes hard to understand how much to charge people, according to the type of work. An acquaintance just asked me to give her a quote to translate her doctorate thesis on museology from English into French. It is about 80000 words. She doesn't have a lot of money as she is still studying. I usually charge 0,10€ per source word for general translations but 8000€ seems way over her budget. What would be a reasonable rate according to you? I do not want to go to low but I would be willing to lower my rate as I would like to get the job! I was just wondering how low I could reasonably go without "breaking" the market...
Thanks a lot in advance for your help.

Direct link Reply with quote

Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:33
German to English
Uninformed expectations Jun 27, 2008

This seems to be a situation in which almost any reasonable price will be beyond the budget of the person desiring the translation. Unfortunately people have the idea that translation is little more than typing text into another language, and expect to pay typing rates, plus a small surcharge for the language aspect.