What is the going rate for Chinese to English translation?
Thread poster: hcord
hcord
Chinese to English
Jul 18, 2008

Hi all,

I am new to the translation world so I would really appreciate any help I can get!

Just wondering if anyone can give me an idea of what the current going rate is (per word in USD) for Chinese to English translation? The job is through an agency so I expect the rate to be a bit lower.

Also, I did a word count and came up with 87086 words whereas they quoted 72202 words which is vastly different. I assume it is caused by repetitions? What ( if any) should I be paid for repetitions?

Thanks in advanced for your help

Helen

Direct link Reply with quote

Chun Un  Identity Verified
Macau
Member (2007)
English to Chinese
+ ...
It depends Jul 18, 2008

Hi Helen

To answer your question, I think the rate varies greatly from one translator to another. But I think you can get an idea from here:

http://www.proz.com/?sp=rates_view&rates_view_pair=chi_eng

And you can also look up in the translators' directories and see how much other translators are charging.

Why don't you ask directly the client how they get the word count?

Hope this helps.

Chun

hcord
Chinese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Chun Jul 18, 2008

Dear Chun

Thanks for your response. Unfortunately I cannot view the rates link as I am not a premium member yet. Would you say USD 0.025 per source word is low if it is paid through an agency? Also, how do I figure out the correct word count? I will also ask the client how they got their figure. THANKS AGAIN Helen

LoyalTrans
Local time: 07:40
English to Chinese
+ ...
Seems a bit low Jul 18, 2008

"USD 0.025 per source word" is and should be regarded as very low no matter where it comes from. But if you are just taking this as a chance for practice, then maybe you should take it for after all it is better than nothing.