Thread poster: Lena P J
Lena P J
United States
Local time: 01:39
English to Russian
+ ...
Jul 31, 2008

Hello everyone,
I was just offered a job and since I'm a beginner, I'm not quite sure if the outsources pay you after the completion of the translation or not. Sorry if it seems like a ridiculous question to ask....If you get paid after you send them the completed project, how do you ensure that they pay you?
Thank you so much!!!!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-07-31 14:17]

Direct link Reply with quote

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:39
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 31, 2008

[Edited at 2008-07-31 14:37]

Lena P J
United States
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jul 31, 2008

Thank you! So, if I use paypal, I should expect a payment after I complete the project?

Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 07:39
Paperwork Jul 31, 2008

Well, they can't pay you until you send them an invoice with your banking details/paypal address on it.

If you're new to freelancing, you should really swot up on some business books/courses or hire a bookkeeper to take care of your financial work.

Orla

[Edited at 2008-07-31 15:04]

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Just look around Proz Z - all you need is there Jul 31, 2008

Orla Ryan wrote:

Well, they can't pay you until you send them an invoice with your banking details/paypal address on it.

If you're new to freelancing, you should really swot up on some business books/courses or hire a bookkeeper to take care of your financial work.

Orla

[Edited at 2008-07-31 15:04]

I'm sure you don't need a bookkeeper yet - that comes later when you're so successful you have complicated paperwork.

I'm sure everything you need to know is covered by the forums, articles etc, etc here on ProZ, and other translators' sites.