Kyle Moore  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:01
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 1, 2008

Consider this summarized chain of events:

1. I send my message. "Hi, I'm a translator..."
2. Outsourcer e-mails back "Oh, translate this 6-page document")
3. Me: "Umm..okay, is this paid?" (I start the translation.)
4. Outsourcer: "No, it's not paid, but there's more where that came from if you do a good job."
5. Me: "Here's the first page as a test. I'm not doing 6 pages for free. If you want the rest, pay for it."
6. Outsourcer: "I do want the rest, s
... See more
Consider this summarized chain of events:

1. I send my message. "Hi, I'm a translator..."
2. Outsourcer e-mails back "Oh, translate this 6-page document")
3. Me: "Umm..okay, is this paid?" (I start the translation.)
4. Outsourcer: "No, it's not paid, but there's more where that came from if you do a good job."
5. Me: "Here's the first page as a test. I'm not doing 6 pages for free. If you want the rest, pay for it."
6. Outsourcer: "I do want the rest, so finish it."
7. Me: "Are you going to pay for it?"
8. Outsourcer: "Yeah, I'll pay for it"

Considering the first page is part of the translation that the outsourcer is presumable going to turn around and charge per word for, do I bill for the first page, or just the last 5?
Collapse

Uldis Liepkalns
Uldis Liepkalns  Identity Verified
Latvia
Local time: 13:01
Member (2003)
English to Latvian
+ ...
Of course you bill for all Sep 1, 2008

You did the whole job, didn't you?

Uldis

PS. Myself being an outsourcer I consider it unethical to ask for any "free tests" at all- all jobs must be paid. As to me, I sure can afford to pay for a test even if I myself am not paid for it - the more reason for me not to make tests 6 pages long

U.

Orgullomoore wrote:
Considering the first page is part of the translation that the outsourcer is presumable going to turn around and charge per word for, do I bill for the first page, or just the last 5?

Viktoria Gimbe