Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
A general format of counting the words while invoicing.
Thread poster: Mrudula Tambe

Mrudula Tambe  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 00:13
English to Marathi
+ ...
Dec 23, 2008

I am a freelancer translator and recently, I worked for an outsourcer who sent me 53 words to translate from English to Sanskrit and the rate was decided per word. I did the required translation same day and sent it along with the invoice.

After a week, I sent him a gentle reminder about payment and he replied that according to him, the word count is 20 as I counted the target words.

I told him the procedure to count the word in MS-word i.e. using tool menu and told him that 52 is the Source Word Count.

Then he said that I included pronoun, verb, conjunction, articles etc. while counting the source words which is an incorrect practice. I was shocked. Never in my 10 years translator’s life I came across the client who goes for word count as a noun count. I usually send the invoice counting the source words in word count and my client pays it trusting me.

Firstly, I thought it is merely a trick to avoid the payment but the outsourcer is not only senior translator but the PRO Level Member of proz.com He may not go for such cheap business conduct.

Later after many communications he paid me but I still have some questions in my mind. I hope that the people on this forum will certainly guide me in this regard.

1] Is it a general practice to exclude every single word which is not a noun while word counting?

2] If it is a regular thing, when it comes to large volume like 10,000 words, isn’t it difficult to remove the unwanted words?