Pointers for a newbie?
Thread poster: Breagha (X)
Breagha (X)
Breagha (X)
Local time: 09:18
English to Danish
+ ...
Jan 23, 2009

I'm studying English, and would like to spice up my income a bit, translating. Most people here seem to have some really impressive CVs, though, and I'm a little uncertain whether I'd be out of my depth. So first pointer would be if I even belong here, heh.

Secondly, I've looked at some jobs that I would be able to undertake, but I always stop short, when I get to quote. What should I ask for per word? I'm thorough, and I love the language, so I work with it when I start translating
... See more
I'm studying English, and would like to spice up my income a bit, translating. Most people here seem to have some really impressive CVs, though, and I'm a little uncertain whether I'd be out of my depth. So first pointer would be if I even belong here, heh.

Secondly, I've looked at some jobs that I would be able to undertake, but I always stop short, when I get to quote. What should I ask for per word? I'm thorough, and I love the language, so I work with it when I start translating to or from English, but I don't yet have a degree, and I use no other tools than dictionaries, internet, reference points, and the people I translate for. On one hand, I know I'm not yet as good as the professionals, and on the other I don't want to put too low a price as I see people here being angry about undercutters.

Obviously, I'm completely new at this, and any and all pointers regarding money issues and generally setting up business would be very appreciated.
Collapse

Penelope Ausejo
Penelope Ausejo  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Search the forums Jan 24, 2009

Hi Breagha,

Please search the forums, you will find lots of information for newbies.

Regarding the rates, I don't know your combination (English into Danish) but look up for Danish translators and find what they charge from their profiles. That might be of help.