https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/126754-request_for_advice_on_vat_taxes.html

Request for advice on V.A.T. & taxes
Thread poster: Ema80
Ema80
Ema80
Local time: 18:51
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 4, 2009

Hello everybody,

I am a new freelance translator and I would need some info on how to proceed into this "unknown world".

My main doubts and questions at the moment are about the V.A.T and taxes.

I have asked friends and colleagues and also the tax authorities in my homeland, but there seems to be lot of confusion about this and nobody could give me clear and sure information.

I will try to explain my situation briefly:

This is my f
... See more
Hello everybody,

I am a new freelance translator and I would need some info on how to proceed into this "unknown world".

My main doubts and questions at the moment are about the V.A.T and taxes.

I have asked friends and colleagues and also the tax authorities in my homeland, but there seems to be lot of confusion about this and nobody could give me clear and sure information.

I will try to explain my situation briefly:

This is my first serious & long-term job as a freelance translator, and I have no VAT number.

Since the beginning of this year I am working as a freelance translator abroad (in Germany) for 6 months (this is the contract I have been offered at the moment).

I will be working at the offices of a company in Germany, translating.

However, my client is a localisation agency from England, and my fiscal residence is in Italy.

I have checked in the internet for the threshold above which you must register for VAT in Germany, and according to my figures I should remain under the threshold for Germany for this year.

Given all this, do you think I have to/need to register for V.A.T.?
If yes, in which of the 3 countries? Germany, Italy or England?

Also, in which country do you think I will have to pay taxes? And how much will I have to pay? What percentage?