Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What should I do when asked for a discount for repetitions and working with no CAT tool?
Thread poster: Kate Chaffer

Kate Chaffer
Italy
Local time: 20:06
Member (2009)
Italian to English
Jun 3, 2009

I'm still relatively new to translating and I haven't started using any CAT tools yet. An agency has asked me to translate a new manual for a client I have already translated for and, as about 50% of the text is a repetition of the original manual, they want to know what discount I will give for that.
What would you do in situations like this?

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-06-03 13:34 GMT]

Marcela Mestre  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 15:06
English to Spanish
How To Treat Your Local Supermarket Jun 3, 2009

How To Treat Your Local Supermarket (A Letter to Translator)
by Wilmer Brouwer

Dear owner of my local supermarket,

You are probably really happy to have me as your custormer. Here are some simple rules to keep me as a customer:

Please add everything I buy to my bill
Please send an invoice once a month at the end of the month for everything I buy
I will pay every invoice after 60 days
I will start counting those days at the end of the month in which you send the invoice
I will pay on my payment date, which happens to be the 15th of every month (don’t complain, it could be the 30th!)
I decide what I pay for your products
If I buy the same product twice I will pay only half for the second product
If I buy a lot I decide what reduction you will give
Please also give me an extra reduction because it’s a crisis
I only pay on PayPal
I hope you know how lucky you are that I am still your customer!
Don’t expect me to thank you, you probably know how many supermarkets there are and some of them are a lot cheaper than you! I will let you know if I think of any other rules in the future to keep our cooperation as perfect as possible!

Kind regards,

Your customer