Book translation: is it necessary to sign a contract?
Thread poster: tradumarian

tradumarian
Local time: 06:18
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 8, 2009

Hello. Thank you very much for your support. I am new in this. This is the first time I am in a forum. You have been of great help to me because I didn´t know whom to ask for a piece of advice. It is only a couple of days that I thought about the fact that my client is going to sell hundreds or thousands copies of my translation and that I should have the right to receive a retribution on the copies sold. I am a translator from Argentina. My client is from the United States. What I find somewhat strange is that though I asked her information about her, asked for a percentage in advance, asked her whether it was possible for her to phone me and required her to talk about payment conditions twice, she did not send data about her and did not answer to my requirement of talking about payment either. She seems reluctant to talk about payment terms. My fear was that she would not give me the job, so I sent my cv to her all the same and began working on the translation. I found information about her in the web and found that she published the book I am translating last year. It seems that she is the president of her own company, a publishing house, and that part or everything ( I am not sure) got from the books sold is to be donated to help single mothers. And it seems that she seeks marketing and media networks to make her voice bigger. That must be related to sponsors. The trademarks I told you about are “big names”. Think of products for babies and you´ll know which trademarks I refer to. She did not send me the whole book. She sent me it by chapters. I have already finished the chapters. I have to translate one more page and then improve and revise the whole translation. I began working at the end of March. I was asked to translate the book into two Spanish versions, one to be sold in the United States (for Latin American