Thread poster: Lutz Molderings

Lutz Molderings  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:46
Member (2007)
German to English
+ ...
Jul 16, 2009

I currently live in the UK where I work as a freelance translator. I operate as a limited company which means I pay 21% corporation tax on my profits. I don't pay any income tax because I make sure the salary I pay myself does not exceed my personal allowance.

Now, I recently decided to relocate to Germany and am wondering how much tax the Finanzamt will want from me. I have done a bit of research and it seems the best solution would be to work as a so-called "Freiberufler". But how much do Freiberufler pay in tax? I know this will depend on my Steuerklasse, but perhaps somebody can give me a rough idea what kind of rate I can expect (28, married, no children).

Thanks for your help.

Direct link Reply with quote

Textklick  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:46
German to English
+ ...
In German Jul 16, 2009

Hi Lutz,

I would have thought you'd get much more feedback if you post this in German.

Viel Glück!

Chris

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Tables Jul 16, 2009

For example, find your annual taxable earnings in the left-hand column, and read off the amount of tax you would owe in the middle column:

http://www.steuerlinks.de/uploads/tx_fbfilebase/est-2008-grundtabelle-splittingtabelle_01.pdf

There is a certain tax-free allowance, as in the UK.

After that, you pay a certain, fairly low percentage of tax on the first few thousands above the allowance limit.

The next few thousands are taxed at a higher percentage.

The few thousands after that are taxed at a higher percentage still.... and so on.

And yes, there is an upper limit, so that, even adding on the extra taxes, such as paying for reunification, church tax if you decide to be a member of the church and so on, you will never be paying more than 50% of your earnings.