International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

word count : % for repetitions
Thread poster: François-Xavier Pâque

François-Xavier Pâque
Belgium
Local time: 13:10
Member (2010)
Russian to French
+ ...
Jul 29, 2009

Hi, i'm new to the independant translation market and I would need your help

What do people understand by "let us know what is your % for repetitions" ?

Do they mean the money we charge for the already translated repetitive TU or something else i don't fathom ?

thank you !!

Direct link Reply with quote

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:10
Italian to English
CAT analysis Jul 30, 2009

Hi François-Xavier

CAT tools have an analysis feature which tells you the number of words in repeated or similar segments.
Some clients, especially agencies, expect you to offer a discount on these as they object to paying twice for the same phrases.
Some translators believe that only they should benefit from the increased efficiency that their investment in a CAT tool has provided.
Some are prepared to consider such discounts on a case by case basis.
I hesitate to suggest typical discounts but, on occasion, I have offered 67% on 100% matches and 50% on 75%+ matches - for a regular client on specific jobs that appeal to me and warrant such a discount - but only on request.
HTH

Russell

Neil Coffey  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
I don't give a discount for repetitions Jul 30, 2009

Admittedly, I work almost exclusively with direct clients so I don't get asked this too often. But just out of interest, does anybody just answer "I don't give a discount for repetitions"?