International contract
Thread poster: tradumarian
tradumarian
Local time: 21:49
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 29, 2009

I am an Argentinian translator (woman) presently making a book translation (quite finishing it) for someone from the USA. My client asked me two Spanish versions, one to be published in Argentina and the other in USA. We haven´t set a contract yet. Has anyone made such a work for someone from another country? I need to know how you did to sign the contract. We contact through the net, so can I send the contract to my client so that she can sign it and has her signature authenticated by a notary of a competent authority of her country, and then ask her to send the contract to me by post so that I can sign it and has my signature authenticated by an authority from my country? Has it any validity? I want to register the translation contract in the Argentinian Book Chamber in order to have the translation´s copyright. Can anyone help me?

Direct link Reply with quote

cilantro  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 02:49
Italian to English
+ ...
it takes2 to tango Aug 30, 2009

Dear Marian,
The first thing that comes to mind is to take a look at who your employer is. A signed contract is as good as the people signing it, notwhistanding all the notaries and validations, etc. I would also take into consideration that in other parts of the world business may be carried out in a more informal way, such that just an e-mail confirming your job can be considered to be a contract. On the other hand the book chamber in Argentina may be less inclined to accept this and may require all the paperwork; however if you show them that you actually have translated the book and that it is going to be published shortly, they may finally accept your conversation with the requisitor as proof that you're working on his/her behalf.
You should check with the book chamber, since that's who is going to assign rights for you.

Gabriel Luis  Identity Verified
Spain