Kathrin Berger  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 10:39
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
Sep 12, 2009

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to this platform and I am very impressed by the general helpfulness of the members here and the wealth of information!

I have recently started my own translation business and so far things are progressing slowly, but since that's what I expected I am not too worried at this stage

I have recently managed to land a contract with a company providing translations on an ongoing basis. The files I receive vary in length and as I would like to get paid per translation rather than on a monthly invoicing basis I wonder if you could give me some advice on how you would handle the following:

The standard rate we agreed on for translations from English into German is EUR 0.08 but I reserved the right to charge an hourly rate for shorter text. Some of the files I get offered are only 70 words long so would barely amount to anything on the per word rate, so obviously this would be charged differently. What do you think is a reasonable "cut-off word count" below which I can charge hourly?

As I am still quite new to freelance translations I am very grateful for any suggestions you might have how to handle this....

Thanks heaps and kind regards,
Kathrin

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-09-12 08:30 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:39
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Minimum fee Sep 12, 2009

Hello Kathrin,

I guess you are talking about a minimum fee rather than a flat rate.

General consensus in previous forum threads on the same topic often appears to be that the minimum fee should equal the hourly rate which you, in principle, expect to earn.

You should know, or be able to determine, how many words you can translate, on average, in an hour. If it is, for example, 300, then your minimum fee will be for 300 words.