Thread poster: Justin Peterson
Justin Peterson
Justin Peterson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 01:59
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
Sep 18, 2009

I am a Spanish-English translator and project manager living in Spain.
I have been approached by a sucessful Spanish screenwriter to translate a novel of his, which he aims to publish in the US.
We have reached an agreement regarding payment for the translation, but I think I should insist on royalties, as I really think the book could be a bestseller, and it´s the only way I could make really good money on the deal.
What can I do legally to insure that I am paid royalties
... See more
I am a Spanish-English translator and project manager living in Spain.
I have been approached by a sucessful Spanish screenwriter to translate a novel of his, which he aims to publish in the US.
We have reached an agreement regarding payment for the translation, but I think I should insist on royalties, as I really think the book could be a bestseller, and it´s the only way I could make really good money on the deal.
What can I do legally to insure that I am paid royalties?
How are they normally calculated and distributed?
His aim is to sign a deal with an American publisher in New York.
This issue has been addressed before on the forum, but I can't seem to find any clear answer. Thanks.

JRP
Collapse

urbom
urbom
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:59
German to English
+ ...
whoa there Sep 18, 2009

Has the Spanish novel been published in Spain (by a proper publishing company, not just as a vanity project)? If so, then the English translation rights probably belong to the Spanish publisher and the screenwriter does not have the right to commission a translation of the work into any other language.

The first step would be to persuade a US publisher to buy the English translation rights for the book. A translated excerpt may be useful at this stage, but note that the US publisher
... See more