Tom Fennell
United States
Local time: 11:52
Member (2010)
Russian to English
+ ...
Oct 6, 2009

Dear ProZians,

I am a legal translator, which means that I work with lots of .pdf files, since lawyers very often only receive paper copies of many documents.

I use ABBYY Fine Reader 9.0 as my OCR tool to convert them to Word. Though long, hard learning, I have become very adept at properly setting up the document in Fine Reader so that it can be formatted to perfection in Word, but the process can be laborious for a complex document.

A simple document may require 5-10% of the translating time, but a complex document can easily take 20-30% of the time, but the end result is exquisite, with seals and signatures all reproduced.

Not only is the end quality better, but I get the benefit of the Trados productivity (legal clients in my language rarely ask for the discount), and some documents are extremely repetitive.

I have heard that translators sometimes ask for a .03 cent (US) or 20% addition for files sent in .pdf.

Not that the clients even really require the works of art I produce. But it can be easier to do something 100% well than 80%, and easier to have one workflow.

Creating complex, or adequate formatting in Word would also require time, albeit not so much, perhaps. It is hard for me to track that since I now always OCR the document.

Any thoughts? Experiences? Advice?

Thanks,

Tom Fennell

[Edited at 2009-10-06 12:59 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Déesse
Local time: 18:52
French to Dutch
+ ...
Same idea Oct 6, 2009

I have been thinking about charging more for pdf files, but I'm not sure whether many translators do so. I'll also be glad to read the thoughts of my collegues.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Which is easier? Oct 6, 2009

tfennell wrote: