About working for a translation company - how much should I ask for?
Thread poster: silks
Oct 6, 2009

I am currently in China, and I have been in contact with a guy who runs a business for translating Chinese texts into English. He is not a translator, but he interfaces with the clients and works out contracts for the jobs. He is interested in having me work for him as a translator on a contract-to-contract basis. I am able to do the work, but I'm not sure how much to ask from him. The contracts he makes with his clients will specify a price, and of course he will want a percentage of that for himself. What would be a reasonable percentage (or percentage-range) that he should offer for my services, considering that I will be translating the texts without any help? I'm new to this business, so I have no idea what is too little or too much. Any information or wisdom that you can share would be much appreciated!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-10-07 14:18 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Irene McClure
Local time: 06:11
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Welcome Oct 6, 2009

Dear silks,

Welcome to the Proz site!

Your best starting point would be to take a look at the "rates" part of the site, which you can find under the 'jobs' tab at the top of the page. There you can compare the average rates reported by professional translators working in your language pair.

As you seem to have no experience of translating for an agency I also suggest you have a look around the "Getting Established" forum to make sure that you cover all your bases from the point of view of things like purchase orders, word counts, corrections, resources, tax and so on. There is lots of useful information there and if you have any questions it is more than likely that someone else has asked them before.

I hope this helps. Good luck!

savtrad

Penelope Ausejo  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Many factors Oct 7, 2009