Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Do you charge a minimum for very small jobs?
Thread poster: Stephanie Ezrol

Stephanie Ezrol  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:50
Member (2009)
English
+ ...
Oct 12, 2009

I am wondering if there a standard practice a charging a minimum fee for very small jobs? I am new to freelance translating. In other fields with which I am familiar there are minimum fees of say 10, 15 or 25 dollars. Is there any such practice in freelance translating? Or do you bill out a very small amounts at time like $8.00 or something like that?

I understand that the field of freelance translating is a bit of a "free for all," but if anyone has any wisdom to share, I would be very appreciative.

Direct link Reply with quote

Gianni Pastore  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 23:50
Member (2007)
English to Italian
No charge for very (very) small jobs Oct 12, 2009

Such as little additions (up to 25-50 words) to project I've been working on. Other than that I charge a fixed fee for jobs up to 250 words.

Gianni

LEXpert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:50
Member (2008)
Croatian to English
+ ...
One hour Oct 12, 2009

at my hourly rate is my minimum charge for discrete translation jobs.

Özden Arıkan  Identity Verified
Germany
English to Turkish
Depends Oct 12, 2009

My minimum fee equals my rate for one hour, which roughly equals 300 source words. But I don't charge a minimum for small additions on an ongoing -or completed- project. I am also usually reluctant to charge a minimum for clients whom I invoice regularly, so I just add the amount on the invoice total instead.

As a rule of thumb, you can consider one hour's fee for a minimum rate.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
It depends Oct 12, 2009

Do you mean small jobs for regular customers?

Anita Cassidy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)
English to German
hourly rate Oct 12, 2009