non-paying client in great britain (ltd.)
Thread poster: Ursula Derx

Ursula Derx  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 15:22
Member (2005)
English to German
Nov 2, 2009

I am a translator based in Vienna, Austria. I have a client in Great Britain, an ltd., who owe me a lot of money.
My contact person is the general manager of this ltd.
It happened like this:
While I was still working on the first order, they sent more and more files, stating it's really urgent; finally I ended up with a volume I usually nevery would have accepted without advance payment.

My Austrian collection agent suggested to start an inland collection addressed to the general manager (who is an Austrian citizen and has an Austrian address). This resulted in partial payment, but the largest part of the amount is still open.

Since my collection agent would charge me for collection activities in Great Britain, I am now looking for a UK-based collection agency who would collect their own charges from the client (leaving me free of any risk).

Any suggestions?

What else should I do?

I am wondering whether I should file a complaint for defraud with the police.
Should I mention the client's company name and general manager's name in this forum? (it is not a proz-member)

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:22
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Advice Nov 2, 2009

Sorry to hear that, Ursula. According to government advice, you should contact a properly registered Solicitor based in the UK. Not a debt collection agency (you don't know whether the debt collection agency is reliable or not).

As a good starting point, here is the official UK government advice page on what to do. It also contains advice on how to find a Solicitor:

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/MoneyTaxAndBenefits/ManagingDebt/CourtClaimsAndBankruptcy/DG_10023133

and here's another useful page (also an official UK government website):

http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/layer?topicId=1074453392