PRAKAASH  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 09:14
Member (2007)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Nov 11, 2009

Hi friends,

I am a freelance translator of Hindi, Nepali and Sanskrit languages.

I have seen many jobs asking for discount for repetitions as they feel that those repetitions make translator's work easier. To a great extent for novice translators, yes, they make the job of translation simpler for them as they get meaning of any word (simple or a difficult one), and they have to play word-puzzle game for a while and provide an immature translation.

But, when it comes to Hindi, we have a different sentence-structure to use.
We use 'Subject'+'Object'+'Verb'.

When MT translates, it doesn't correct grammar. I personally prefer to delete all translation provided by MT and translate the original text afresh to retain Hindi language's originality with correct grammar used. So, I term such jobs as 're-translation' rather than a help, which makes life more uncomfortable. It is something like, you write a phrase or two in go..gl translate page, it comes out with horrible translation.

For instance, I want to translate "Train will arrive in a minute or so."
into Hindi via free online translation, it'll come up with
ट्रेन या तो एक मिनट में आ जाएगा. (train ya to ek minute me aa jayega)
The correct translation goes below.
ट्रेन एक आध-मिनट में आ जाएगी। (train ek-adh minute me aa jayegi)

Here,for me, if revising and correcting the wrong translation given by MT will consume 30 seconds, then translating it afresh won't consume more than 20 seconds!

While doing corrections, I have to
1. check grammar and restructure the whole sentence.
2. Have to think for the suitable words in Hindi for the horribly translated words sometimes.

It's easy for me to read the source text, think for 5-10 secs and type the hindi translation. It would be more effective than the correction of translation that I would have done otherwise.