https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/15371-transcription_translation_dubbing_of_video_urgent_please.html

Transcription/Translation/Dubbing of Video - Urgent Please
Thread poster: Sandra Alboum
Sandra Alboum
Sandra Alboum  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:55
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 29, 2003

Hi.

A client of mine called me up and asked me to give him a ballpark figure on what it might cost a client of his (i.e., I don't know these people) to take a videotape in German (19 minutes), have it transcribed onto paper (he's not sure a script is available, but if it is, this wouldn't be necessary), then have that translated into English, and then dubbed in English by a professional sounding person.

I have no clue as I am a Spanish translator.

Could som
... See more
Hi.

A client of mine called me up and asked me to give him a ballpark figure on what it might cost a client of his (i.e., I don't know these people) to take a videotape in German (19 minutes), have it transcribed onto paper (he's not sure a script is available, but if it is, this wouldn't be necessary), then have that translated into English, and then dubbed in English by a professional sounding person.

I have no clue as I am a Spanish translator.

Could someone help me out? I was able to ballpark him $3 per double spaced page on the transcription and about $0.13/word on the translation, but I had no clue about the dubbing.

Are my rates even close? Does anyone have a ballpark on a per-word for the transcription?

Thanks so much.
Collapse

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
Be careful! Oct 30, 2003

Transciption can take a LONG time. $3/page is much too low, as it would easily take you an hour to transcribe a page. I believe most people who perform this service charge per minute of tape.