droits d'auteur
Thread poster: sequoia
sequoia
sequoia
France
Local time: 04:47
Jan 6, 2010

Hello,

I am a young translator I haven't got a Siret number yet. I made a "note de droits d'auteur" for subtitles in October 2009.
A screening of the video (with my subtitles) is scheduled in an art gallery in January 2010.
How much should I ask for that screening and who should I ask?

Thank you for your advice.

[Modifié le 2010-01-06 17:12 GMT]

David Wright
David Wright  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 04:47
German to English
+ ...
Copyright collecting society Jan 6, 2010

In France, I imagine - since it is a pan-European phenomenon at least - royalties on performances of a work (and that includes the video with your subtitles) are handled centrally by a collecting society. You should register with this society if you expect that works of yours are to be performed (which they apparently will be), and at the end of the financial period (month, quarter or whatever the use) they will transfer the amount to you. This amount is determined by them.

The alt
... See more
In France, I imagine - since it is a pan-European phenomenon at least - royalties on performances of a work (and that includes the video with your subtitles) are handled centrally by a collecting society. You should register with this society if you expect that works of yours are to be performed (which they apparently will be), and at the end of the financial period (month, quarter or whatever the use) they will transfer the amount to you. This amount is determined by them.

The alternative is to enter into negotiations with whoever is showing the video on the payment of a fee. This will depend on how many people are expected to see the film, whether admission is charged or other revenue raised (sale of drinks, works of art, copies of the film).