What is and is not to be counted in word total of a translation
Thread poster: Kenneth Shockley

Kenneth Shockley  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:53
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
Jan 25, 2010

I am a former school teacher who is now a free-lance translator, and I have been working for some time for a local translation agency here in Spain that has been providing me with almost all my work. (Hopefully, this will start to change now that I am a member of ProZ and have purchased SDL Trados; also, I just did a 1-year CiOL Diploma in Translation course with International House in Barcelona and took the exam this month, so I hope to have more time to strike out on my own now)

My question is regarding word count:
I would appreciate it if those of you with more experience in free-lance translation could give me some advice and guidance as to whether there is a generally accepted idea of what is and isn't to be counted in the word count. Examples of doubts: some numbers, words that aren't translated because the translator decides that the most appropriate thing is to leave them in the source language, etc. Any help you could give me along these lines would certainly be appreciated. I feel I need to be more "in the know" about how things like this are generally done. Thanks very much in advance for your help!

Direct link Reply with quote

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:53
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
Several standards Jan 25, 2010

From my experience the most common is charging for the entire contents of translated document (including numbers and of course words left untranslated - after all for instance during English to Polish translation numbers need to be changed and leaving something untranslated is a conscious decision of a translator). It is also a matter of efficiency - checking the word count displayed for instance by MS Word takes seconds while manual counting of words would be very time consuming.