Delayed contract. Should I worry?
Thread poster: Tai Fu

Tai Fu  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:55
Chinese to English
Jan 30, 2010

Hi

a few weeks ago I was given a job from a localization firm to translate an online game from Chinese to English. It's a big job so I am actually a part of a team of translators working on this. Initially I was told the standard payment term is 30 days after the completion of the job but for a discount I can opt to to collect the payment in advanced. Since I am new to the translation business I opted to collect payment since I don't really know if I will get paid or if it could be a scam or something. I was told that I'd get a contract sometimes before the last week of January but it got delayed until now and I emailed them asking what went wrong and the guy called me and told me that they had ended up writing the wrong contract and had to make one from scratch and was told that it will be ready on Sunday.

My question is that the contract had been delayed time and time again and every time I checked on the day he'd say it would be ready he said that it had been delayed due to some problem, should I even expect to have a contract anytime at all or is this a legitimate error the agency had? Since they are paying me in advanced a contract would be reasonable, and also I just want to know in writing what is expected of me incase they say that the quality of my work is not good enough. Since I am already on the job and has done about 20,000 characters so far I would hate for this to turn out to be just a ploy to get free translations and that it's not really a serious job at all.

Anything I should look out for when getting a job from an agency?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxBrandis
Local time: 17:55
English to German
+ ...
PO is a formality.. Jan 30, 2010