Thread poster: Inga Petkelyte

Inga Petkelyte  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 00:33
Lithuanian to Portuguese
+ ...
May 9, 2010

Dear all,

I am a freelance translator specializing in legal documents.

Last week, I concluded a tranlation of 21 pages or 5.388 words, that's an American contract of Purchase of Shares, Releases and several extracts from bank accounts and personal funds statements, 3 pages of the latter very similar in contents but slightly different in formating; all extracts in detailed tables. On the other hand, several pages were really easy, not much tet, only payment statements.

I charged 20 eur/page and gave a 15% discount after the first 5 pages. I didn't charge anything for those tables though it's quite time consuming, as you all know, plus various font-size changes.

In sum, the client paid over 300 euros for the work done.

And here I am not knowing if I did right or not, gee it seems a lot for a document...

I'm sorry if my concern seems a bit strange; I am selling a good sevice but I don't want to be a robber !

Normally, my clients are companies or public institutions, so somehow charging yhem is easier.Tthis client is a private person. I was recommended by court and the document is for the court.

Any advice, constructive or bittericon_smile.gif, will be accepted.

Thank you !

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to English
Advice May 9, 2010

Dear Inga

It shouldn't really make any difference who your client is; the value is determined by the quality of your work (and what was required to become proficient in it).
The accepted wisdom is that rates for private clients are higher than for agencies because there is no middle-man but, of course, that tends to mean business clients, for whom translation costs are a tiny percentage of the total outlay.