Moneybookers commercial account for freelancing
Thread poster: Mohamed A. Moustafa

Mohamed A. Moustafa  Identity Verified
United States
English to Arabic
+ ...
May 20, 2010

Hello,
I have been using moneybookers for two years, and everything was fine. I verified my bank account and my address. Recently, I received an email from the site asking why I opened a moneybookers account. I told them that I opened it to get paid for my freelance translation work.
Therefore, they said that I use the account for commercial purposes and therefore they will consider my account a business one. They also told me that they will apply their standard fee on the processed 'receive money' transactions. They sent my a form to fill in, asking about the name of my company, the legal form, the registration number, etc. I told them that I do not have a company, nor do I represent one. If I have one, I will not withhold any information from them. They continued to tell me that getting paid for freelancing via the Internet will consider my account as commercial.
What should I do?
Do you think I should close my account and start a new one?
I am fed up with their endless requests.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 22:33
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Are you sure it's the real Moneybookers? May 20, 2010

Muhammad Abdulfattah Ahmad wrote:
Recently, I received an email from the site asking why I opened a moneybookers account. I told them that I opened it to get paid for my freelance translation work. Therefore, they said that I use the account for commercial purposes and therefore they will consider my account a business one.

I went in search of this on their web site but could not find anything like that. The closest that I can find for it this:

http://www.moneybookers.com/app/help.pl?s=m_info
Should I register as an individual or business user?