Rates for proofreading a manuscript
Thread poster: Cendrine Marrouat

Cendrine Marrouat
Canada
Local time: 11:52
English to French
May 31, 2010

Hello everyone,

I was recently asked to proofread a manuscript for a novel. The word count is approximately 31,000 words (about 200 pages).

I would like to know what you usually charge. Is it per word, page, hour? What is the regular rate? I was thinking along the line of 16 dollars an hour.

Your answers and advice are truly appreciated.

Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Teresa Borges
Portugal
Local time: 17:52
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
For a publisher? For the author? May 31, 2010

Cendrine Marrouat
Canada
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Author or publisher does not make any difference May 31, 2010

Thank you for responding. However, I do not think that the question is relevant. I am also a writer.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 18:52
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
It is relevant May 31, 2010

Cendrine Marrouat wrote:
However, I do not think that the question is relevant.

A publisher has already calculated a potential profit for the book, whereas an author is still only hoping to get an income. So on the one hand, you'd do well to charge less for a private person than for a publisher. On the other hand, if the publisher wants it proofread, it means that the publisher was sufficiently impressed with it, and this means that the quality of the work is probably already up to standard, and proofreading it should take you less time.

My suggestion would be to proofread a few random pages as a sample, to see how long it takes and how much work is involved, and then to quote (or estimate) based on that.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Your hourly rate is for you to fix May 31, 2010

You seem to be asking two very different questions here:

1.[/quote]I would like to know what you usually charge. Is it per word, page, hour?[/quote]