Charge per word repeated
Thread poster: Richard Koenig

Richard Koenig  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:56
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 2, 2010

Hello everyone. I am relatively new to TRADOS software and was simply wondering how much it is custommary to charge per word repeated in a given text as a percentage of ones normal charge for a new word. Thank you so much.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:56
English to German
+ ...
The full rate, what else? Jun 2, 2010

Or did the outsourcer pay for your software?

Emmanuelle Riffault  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:56
Member (2004)
German to French
+ ...
Full rate too Jun 2, 2010

Nicole Schnell wrote:

Or did the outsourcer pay for your software?

Exactly

Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jun 2, 2010

Thank you for your answer Nicole, I have been asked to answer this question as seperate from the new word charge on occasion and have wondered whether this was common practice or not. While translating in Mexico I definitely heard that it happens, but was unsure how to react. You are very right. The software is expensive and it seems unfair and rather complicated to calculate anyway. I just wanted know what other translators thought. Thanks again.

Angela Dickson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Misconceptions Jun 2, 2010

Richard Koenig wrote:

Hello everyone. I am relatively new to TRADOS software and was simply wondering how much it is custommary to charge per word repeated in a given text as a percentage of ones normal charge for a new word. Thank you so much.

Per repeated *word*???? The same as what you always charge.