Is it possible to make a decent living as a freelancer in Belgium ?
Thread poster: Hélène Berthet-Bondet

Hélène Berthet-Bondet  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 11:47
German to French
+ ...
Jun 26, 2010

Dear all,

I have been working as a freelance translator for only two years... but I'm already asking myself if I should continue since my income are very low and the taxes very high.
Is it a naive illusion to think of making a living as a freelancer ?
Does anybody live in Belgium and gets decent income from translation ?
How is this kind of living compatible with being a mother ?

Thanks a lot in advance for your answers !

Best regards

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:47
Flemish to English
+ ...
Juist like Belgium (again). Jun 26, 2010

Is it a naive illusion to a make living in Belgium at all?
Whether as a freelancer (in which case you are considered as a thief because the state does not know how much you earn and cannot take away 53% of your salary) or as an employee, average salary 1500-1750 euros with a high cost of living) there is not much left over at the end of the month.
If you look at the tax-misery index, France is the champion. However, if you calculate the figures, which country should be the champion?

On the active of balance sheet.
Low VAT-threshold, advanced payment of taxes (money you didn't receive yet), social security contributions of 2500 euros per year, if you were VAT-registered twice, expect to pay one third of your VAT of the NEXT quarter in advance, in some provinces you suddenly pollute more and have to pay extra taxes on your garbage collection, the province also requires more taxes because you are self-employed,

On the passive of the balance sheet:
High living-costs, late payments, low rates, chasing your hard-earned money....
Result: If you stay in Belgium as a translator, you will stay poor or survive.