Payment method: Snail Mail
Thread poster: Klaus Urban

Klaus Urban  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:25
Member (2005)
English to German
+ ...
Jul 15, 2010

I am a freelancer in Germany having done a small translation for a US agency.
I had requested payment by wire transfer, providing BIC and IBAN details.

Receiving the following message sounds positive:
"We have released payment for Project No: 123"

However:

"Payment Delivery Method: Snail Mail".

Does this mean I will receive a cheque by mail? With my fee being absorbed by bank charges?

What can I do?

Best regards

Klaus

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:25
English to German
+ ...
Fees for money transfer Jul 15, 2010

Hi Klaus, what most collegues in Europe are not aware of if is that sending an international wire transfer costs US $ 36.00. If the job was indeed a small one, it is understandable that the client chose a different payment method. Did you offer them PayPal? This works best for small payments.

United States
English to German
+ ...
Sending a check Jul 15, 2010

A cashier's check costs US $ 5.00. You have to buy it in person at the bank and have it filled out by the teller. Such a check is pre-paid and therefore secured. I don't think that depositing such a check in your account should cost a lot... I am curious, though.

United States
English to German
+ ...
Mail Jul 15, 2010

One more thing: Mailing business letters between the US and Germany (or any other Western European country) takes two to three business days only because everything goes on an airplane immediately. Christmas cards are adifferent story...

Peter Linton  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:25
Member (2002)
Swedish to English
+ ...
PayPal Jul 15, 2010