Options for international payments
Thread poster: Kathryn Malan

Kathryn Malan  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 09:31
French to English
Dec 1, 2010

I am just starting out as a translator and want to ask: what is the best/easiest/most popular method of payment for clients paying you for work done? How do you normally require your clients to pay you, and do you offer more than one option for this?

Direct link Reply with quote

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 04:31
Member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
My replies Dec 2, 2010

>what is the best

The cheapest and safest way
>/easiest/

e-payment
>most popular method of payment

PayPal? Or bank transfer?
>How do you normally require your clients to pay you, and do you offer more than one option for this?

For small amount: Moneybookers [no fee to me] or PayPal [a bit of fee to me]. I negotiate for payment methods/terms and payer of bank fee etc.

Soonthon Lupkitaro

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:31
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It depends Dec 2, 2010

So much depends on your own country's banking facilities and your clients - where they live things may be very different.

Obviously, you should offer as many payment possibilities as possible. But push for the one(s) that you prefer (ie quicker, cheaper). In my case that means a real preference for wire transfers from all European clients, with a supplement if they insist on using PayPal. But for clients in America, India, Syria I have accepted PayPal quite happily with no particular supplement (but of course I knew where they lived when I quoted so it wasn't a nasty surprise).

Be very sure to agree with a new cleint about who pays what, even for a very small job. Otherwise an unscrupulous client can land you with their fees as well as your own.

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 18:31
English to Portuguese
+ ...
It varies a lot from country to country Dec 2, 2010