How to address the issue of rates increase with clients?
Thread poster: Maria Martins
Maria Martins
Maria Martins  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 07:50
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Feb 9, 2011

Dear fellow translators,

I've been working on translations since 2005. When you're a beginner you tend to provide discounts and lower rates in order to get as many clients as possible, to win a reputation and gain experience.

Then came the crisis in 2008 and I even had one or two clients that asked to temporarily lower my rates. Of course I had to endure because you want to keep the client and you understand the sacrifices to be made in times of crisis.

Las
... See more
Dear fellow translators,

I've been working on translations since 2005. When you're a beginner you tend to provide discounts and lower rates in order to get as many clients as possible, to win a reputation and gain experience.

Then came the crisis in 2008 and I even had one or two clients that asked to temporarily lower my rates. Of course I had to endure because you want to keep the client and you understand the sacrifices to be made in times of crisis.

Last year a client came forward and asked me if I wanted to raise my rates, something I found very refreshing.

But in 2011 I started to analyse the prospects of freelance workers. A worker on the pay-roll has some benefits like health insurance and salary increases and even if these increases aren't substantial, at least they compensate for the inflation rate. And in most cases those increases are annual. Should they be out of job, they also have the unemployment benefits. And there's the maternity leave and sickness leave.