About rate per word
Thread poster: Elibelqua
Elibelqua
Elibelqua  Identity Verified

Local time: 09:34
English to Spanish
Mar 4, 2011

Hello!

I'm new in Proz as well as in the profession. I got my degree as a translator last year and I'm beginning to look for work. I've just sent a few CVs and an agency from the USA asked me what my rate per word is. Honestly, I don't know what I should say. As I don`t have much experience I want someone to advise me on how much they should pay me. Am I supposed to earn less money because I don't have years of experience yet?

Thank you all in advance. I really need you
... See more
Hello!

I'm new in Proz as well as in the profession. I got my degree as a translator last year and I'm beginning to look for work. I've just sent a few CVs and an agency from the USA asked me what my rate per word is. Honestly, I don't know what I should say. As I don`t have much experience I want someone to advise me on how much they should pay me. Am I supposed to earn less money because I don't have years of experience yet?

Thank you all in advance. I really need your opinion =)
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 15:34
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Community Rates Mar 5, 2011

ProZ has a nice feature called Community Rates. It is under Tools > Community Rates. As you can see, it is all conveniently plotted. If I were you, I would choose an average (or just below average) rate from Community Rates. You can look at the response rate, and adjust your rate accordingly.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:34
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
100 dollars per word Mar 5, 2011

Elibelqua wrote:
Am I supposed to earn less money because I don't have years of experience yet?

You are not supposed to anything...