Rates: explanation needed
Thread poster: Marco Nuzzi

Marco Nuzzi
Local time: 01:06
English to Italian
Mar 21, 2011

Hello everyone,

this is my first post here and I hope I'm using the right forum. I've been a translator for a few years now but I worked mostly for one agency, hence my lack of knowledge about this topic. Until now I used a translation rate, a proofreading rate and an hourly rate for extra tasks. Now I'm trying to expand my customer database and I'm getting a bit confused by all the different rates that I've been asked to provide.

1) Translation for doc (by word)
2) Translation for SW (by word)
3) QA (by hour)
4) Monolingual Proofreading (by word or by hour)

Could anyone please explain me the difference between 1 and 2? What does "SW" mean? Also, what's exactly the QA rate? Any other insight would be much appreciated.

Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 20:06
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
HTH Mar 21, 2011

Hi Marco

SW stands for software. Software is usually more difficult to translate than documentation (because of the format, tools, limited context, necessary technical knowledge etc). That is why you can ask a (slightly) higer rate.

QA or quality assurance can mean different things, really. It usually involves comparing the target and the source text, while monolingual proofreading does not, and you only focus on the fluency of the text. For hourly tasks, I normally divide the standard daily output in words x translation rate by 8 hours. Some large international companies expect 2500 words of translation and 6000 words of proofreading daily, but this could differ depending on a lot of factors, so it is just an example.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:06
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My experience of QA work Mar 21, 2011

Adam Łobatiuk wrote: