Fees for TB building - Advice/pointers sought
Thread poster: Jeff Skinner

Jeff Skinner  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 09:30
Swedish to English
+ ...
Mar 23, 2011

Hello all - this isn't strictly a freelancing question, but this is the first place I thought of for turning to advice.

I'm an in-house translator in Stockholm, and we have a client we're negotiating with. They want to know how much we'd charge for building translation resources out of their projects. We use memoQ here, so building a TM is automatic; I don't think it would make much sense to charge for it. Building a TB, on the other hand, is work that could justifiably be charged to the client. Does anyone have any experience with calculating rates for that kind of job?

Thanks very much in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:30
Spanish to English
+ ...
Hourly rate for both TM and TB Mar 23, 2011

Jeff Skinner wrote:

I'm an in-house translator in Stockholm, and we have a client we're negotiating with. They want to know how much we'd charge for building translation resources out of their projects. We use memoQ here, so building a TM is automatic; I don't think it would make much sense to charge for it.

MemoQ often misaligns segments (though it's more accurate than some CAT tools). When aligning clients' existing translations into memoQ, I always check the alignment and usually have to match a bunch of source segments to the right target segments manually. Often this involves splitting or joining segments. If the client only supplies a few short translations for alignment, I don't charge for it. But if it's going to take more than 20 minutes, I include the time in my price quote.