Payment formalities for a freelance translation project
Thread poster: Ritamar

Ritamar
English to Arabic
+ ...
Mar 29, 2011

I am new to proz. and I was wondering how can I get paid and/or pay to a freelancer when it's all virtual? note that the only money transfer means i have in my region is western union. On the other hand, should I trust a freelancer and send the total translation fees before i receive anything? also, should I ask to get paid before i handle a translation? how do I trust and be trusted in a virtual community?

Thanks for your valuable inputs.

Direct link Reply with quote

George Trail  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:21
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Get a paypal account Mar 29, 2011

Go to the Paypal site and register for an account with a given email address. It's completely free.

Ritamar
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
no paypal for my region, only Western Union Mar 29, 2011

Thank you, but how does it work anyway?

Sergei Tumanov  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:21
English to Russian
+ ...
Why virtual? Mar 29, 2011

Don´t forget ordinary mail still exists.
You can send two written copies of a business agreement between you and a translator to the translator.
He or she signs both paper copies and sends one of them to you.
It takes not more than a week in any case.

[Edited at 2011-03-29 10:53 GMT]

Ritamar
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
In case of urgent jobs Mar 29, 2011

Thank you, but in case of urgent jobs with tight deadlines, a customer cannot wait a week to proceed. But thanks anyway.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:21
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
About trustworthiness of a freelancer Mar 29, 2011

I think that you should check whether the translator is a member of any professional association. That alone gives you a fair degree of certainty that you are dealing with a professional person.