Internship translation 3 - 6 month (payment?)
Thread poster: lightinacube
lightinacube
lightinacube
English to German
Apr 15, 2011

Hi everyone,

I am an translation student (M. A.). I have already finished a B. A. study in translation (English to German).
I would like for a company which translates online games from EN into DE during an internship and I'll have an telephone interview next week. The company pays me but I guess I will have to negogiate. It is a part time internship and I am not sure how much they should pay me (e. g. 10 Euros a hour, or 11 cent per word....?9 Can you help me out? Thank you i
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am an translation student (M. A.). I have already finished a B. A. study in translation (English to German).
I would like for a company which translates online games from EN into DE during an internship and I'll have an telephone interview next week. The company pays me but I guess I will have to negogiate. It is a part time internship and I am not sure how much they should pay me (e. g. 10 Euros a hour, or 11 cent per word....?9 Can you help me out? Thank you in advance!

Stephanie
Collapse

Diana Coada (X)
Diana Coada (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:12
Portuguese to English
+ ...
As far as I know Apr 15, 2011

you are not in the position to negotiate. It's an internship, so you either take it or leave it.

In the countries I am familiar with (Spain, Portugal, UK) internships might not even be paid at all. Having said that, my former colleagues at university who have done internships in Germany were getting paid €600, though I do not know whether they were working full-time or part-time.

Good luck!

Oliver Pekelharing
Oliver Pekelharing  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 03:12
Dutch to English
10 euros or 11 cents Apr 15, 2011