Moneybookers: opening a business account when your business is not registered?
Thread poster: DeeWW

DeeWW
Local time: 10:51
Jul 8, 2011

I'm a freelancer on freelancer.com and I want to withdraw my money from them into my moneybookers. I did a lot of searching, and everywhere it clearly states that if you do freelance work, you NEED a business account... you are not allowed to use a personal account for it.

But, If I try to sign up for a moneybookers business account, it asks me for my business registration info? Hello... I'm not a business... I'm just a freelancer. And, if I accept money from freelancer.com into my moneybookers account, they're going to see it's coming from them.

So, what am I supposed to do? Open a business account, even though I don't have a registered business? Does anyone have a Business Moneybookers account even though your business isn't registered? Can this cause complications? The business registrations number, is not a required field. But it has a "Legal form" field, where I have the following options:

- Company Limited By Garuantee
- Propriety Company (Pty Ltd)
- Private Company (Ltd)
- Public Company (Ltd/Bpk)
- Other

I guess I can choose "Other", but I'm scared that they'll ask me for proof later...
But then again... why didn't they make the business registration number a required filed, and why did they add "other" in the legal form box? Is this maybe there for a purpose for people like me?

The other option is, to open a personal account, but to hope that I don't get caught... which I probably will, since payments will be coming from freelancer.com

I don't know what I should do here...

Joel Pina Diaz  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 05:51
English to Spanish
+ ...
You are your own business Jul 8, 2011