Agency claiming financial difficulties won't pay me before... 2014!
Thread poster: Emmanuelle Debon
Emmanuelle Debon
Emmanuelle Debon  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:43
English to French
+ ...
Jul 14, 2011

Hi everybody,

I am a French Toulouse-based free-lance translator working with a number of European customers.

I've translated two small books (German to French) last February and April for a Spanish Agency, total sum of 1200€. Payment was 90 days, but now they claim they face financial problems and have to achieve settlements with all their debtors so as to be able to pursue business. Their lawyer sent me a mail (in Spanish) explaining their intended payment calendar
... See more
Hi everybody,

I am a French Toulouse-based free-lance translator working with a number of European customers.

I've translated two small books (German to French) last February and April for a Spanish Agency, total sum of 1200€. Payment was 90 days, but now they claim they face financial problems and have to achieve settlements with all their debtors so as to be able to pursue business. Their lawyer sent me a mail (in Spanish) explaining their intended payment calendar : after cutting my fee by 30% (!!!), they would pay the rest by instalments : 20% between october and December, 20% between March and May 2012, and 30% in three instalments paid in 2012, 2013 and 2014.
Of course I won't accept such conditions (especially the 30% discount) but as I am not familiar with legal procedures, could someone kindly tell me what my options are to be fully paid?
Do you think I also may legally prevent them from having the books I translated published?

Many thanks for your help.

I wish you a nice Summer.

Emmanuelle
Collapse

Deborah do Carmo
Deborah do Carmo  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 03:43
Dutch to English
+ ...
One way of looking at it ... Jul 14, 2011

Hi Emmanuelle,

Sorry to hear about your problems.