Issue: deal with out of state, nonpaying customer.
Thread poster: doitinspa (X)

doitinspa (X)
English to Spanish
Aug 13, 2011

Dear all,

Im a freelance translator, and Ive engaged in a project during April that hasnt been paid for in full. There were 3 invoices for about 300 dollars, and two of them are still outstanding, after several months.
After insisting for a long time, I am about to lose hope in receiving these monies. The client is located out of state, so I could only file small claims in their state, which would not be worthy due to travel expenses.

I live in NYC, and the client is from Oklahoma City. What could I do? How can I sue this client without having to travel?

I have already sent them a certified mail letter stating that I was going to sue them.

Thanks for your help

Ariel

Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:36
English to French
+ ...
Small claims Aug 14, 2011

I think you can file in small claims court, since your part of the business deal was performed in NY state. Not completely sure, though, so check first.

It may be worth it if you can, because a judgment against them will be entered and they would have great difficulties in obtaining loans and such in the future.

Arianne Farah  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2008)
English to French
Send the paperwork Aug 15, 2011

To a collection's agency.

You'll lose about 15% of the total but at least you'll get paid and it won't cost you a penny if they don't collect. The fun thing about collection agencies is that they (real ones - not your cousin's friend with the tattoosicon_razz.gif) can affect the debtor's credit score so they're a double whammy threat: 1) they just won't take no for an answer & call & call & call & call 2) they can ruin the agency's credit score which will preclude it from getting loans in the future or will raise interest rates.