How to avoid refusal to pay for translations?
Thread poster: Peijun

Peijun  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:58
English to Chinese
+ ...
Aug 24, 2011

How to withheld the translation payment evasion?

Seeing the labor contract being due with the company, I found a local translation company to start up a part-time translator's job. Passing the test and sample translation, I finally obtained the company's part-time translator and interpreter's acknowledgement letter.
I studied financing subject in the university, so I decided to translate in the Business/Finance subject. However, the workload is not in a regular volume. Above all, the disadvantage is that the overseas client usually refuse to pay after the works were translated. It is impossible for me to travel over the nation boundary to claim this payment, so they become "bad debt". I, therefore, release my paypal account and bank account no. on the internet, asking the overseas client to pay 60% of the total payment in advance. I would start to translate, otherwise, I'd rather not translate.

My paypal account : zhangmeryl@gmail.com

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:58
Flemish to English
+ ...
Escrow account or Letter of Credit. Aug 24, 2011

Yalili wrote:

Seeing the labor contract being due with the company, I found a local translation company to start up a part-time translator's job. Passing the test and sample translation, I finally obtained the company's part-time translator and interpreter's acknowledgement letter.