Rates for translation
Thread poster: manzuoli

manzuoli
Local time: 13:49
English to Italian
Aug 30, 2011

I am a teacher making translations as second job, only rarely (ita-eng, eng-ita, ita-french, french-ita, eng-french, frech-eng). Could you give me an idea of the average rate (per word?, per character?per file?), my fields are mainly commercial-legal (non specific)-technical. If I choose a rate per character, how can I count the characters in a .pdf file? I am Italian, I have no "Partita IVA". Thanks all.

Alexander Onishko  Identity Verified
Russian to English
+ ...
that's easy Aug 30, 2011

manzuoli wrote:

I am a teacher making translations as second job, only rarely (ita-eng, eng-ita, ita-french, french-ita, eng-french, frech-eng). Could you give me an idea of the average rate (per word?, per character?per file?), my fields are mainly commercial-legal (non specific)-technical. If I choose a rate per character, how can I count the characters in a .pdf file? I am Italian, I have no "Partita IVA". Thanks all.

10 euro per 100 words - good price

Peter Linton  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:49
Swedish to English
+ ...
Beginner's rates Aug 30, 2011

If I were a translation agency, I would look at your ProZ profile (empty) and your language combinations -- you have quite a few.
In fact, too many combinations. I would not believe you can translate well in every combination. So I would not offer you any rate. As they say on the TV programme Dragon's Den; I'm out.

PS word count in PDF files -- save the PDF file as text, then cut and paste the text into Word and do a word count.

Tina Vonhof
Canada
Local time: 05:49
Member (2006)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Agree with Peter Aug 30, 2011