Managed Availability
Thread poster: José Henrique Lamensdorf

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 17:10
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 14, 2011

I developed the "managed availability" concept a few months ago, put it into practice, and was trying to get it explained in words. At last, one real-life case helped me to spell it out.

It's all about the criterion a translator may use to choose among two or more jobs they are offered, when they won't be able to take all (or more than one) of them and still deliver on time.

Regarding background, my standard payment term is two weeks from delivery, yet I accept jobs paying up to 30 days after delivery. No, I won't take anything beyond a 30-day payment. While I specialize in professional translation, I'll always be an amateur in financial services. Professional financial services providers (aka banks) have their interest rates. As an amateur, my interest rates should be at least twice those adopted by banks. Therefore my prices for payment beyond 30 days are so high that they should immediately rule me out as an option in any job offer.

Another piece of the background is the payment method, and few outsourcers know how it actually works from the payee's side. Please bear in mind that I'm in Brazil. Most translation outsourcers love PayPal, because it's simple to operate: they send funds to a nondescript e-mail address, and their duty will have been fulfilled.

In the case today, the agency I worked for guarantees payment within 30 days from delivery, no matter what. Today - three weeks after I delivered my first job for them - they told me that they will be sending an E-check to my PayPal account. They apparently feel 'good' about paying me earlier than promised.