How should I have dealt with a possible late payment?
Thread poster: Michael Talu

Michael Talu  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:50
Member (2012)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 19, 2011

I'm quite new to Proz and have just completed my first translation actually. Upon completion of the translation I didn't hear from them for about two days, so I emailed them asking when they were going to pay me. They got back to me and said two months. I thought this was ridiculous but I didn't do anything initially because I didn't know how to respond.

A couple of days later I read through a few forums and found the agency on the blueboard as well (Something I should have done before even starting any jobs with them) and found out that two other people had complained about late payments- and one person hadn't been paid until 18 months after completing a job.

So with this i decided to reply to them and tell them I wasn't happy that it would take two months to pay me, and I'd like to be paid in exactly one months time or I'd report them to the blue board. He got back to me almost immediately with an email that said quite simply 'is this a threat?'. This annoyed me and I told him that no, it wasn't a threat, but that I'd seen his blueboard record which didn't exactly scream trustworthiness, so I wanted assurance from him that he would pay within one months time. He got back to me insisting on two months, but since I'd read on one of the forums that once you give a dealine, you should stick with it, I told him I was sticking by one month.

He then told me it was standard company procedure to pay clients in two months time. I gave him a negative review on blueboard.

I kind of feel like I've acted wrongly, but it still seems wrong to me to pay 2 months after completing a job even though I hadn't agreed to those terms (I just assumed I would be paid when i sent the invoice). Does anyone think I acted too rashly though, what could i have done differently?