US/Canada based agency "vanishes" - unsettled payments
Thread poster: Vedado
Vedado
Vedado
English to German
Oct 25, 2011

This is my first time posting in this forum and I hope it will be kind of a help.
I've been working for 6 years for a US/Canada based translation agency (with an office in Madrid as well) for press releases (I'll disclose the name upon request). While during the first years everything went fine, they started being late with payments in 2009. Last year they were 8 months behind, but kept on paying eventually.
Now I've received an obscure letter some days ago stating that the company
... See more
This is my first time posting in this forum and I hope it will be kind of a help.
I've been working for 6 years for a US/Canada based translation agency (with an office in Madrid as well) for press releases (I'll disclose the name upon request). While during the first years everything went fine, they started being late with payments in 2009. Last year they were 8 months behind, but kept on paying eventually.
Now I've received an obscure letter some days ago stating that the company is closing as of 1st November and that "part" of the long-term outstanding payments will be paid within the "settlement process" of the closure. Current outstanding payments will be paid by the acquiring company (name upon request).
The outstanding sum they refer to is just a fraction of the actual one (several thousands of US$).
All my e-mails and phone-calls as a reaction to this letter have remained unreplied, plus the person who sent this letter is quite obscure being referred to as "the third party".
Does anyone know what one can do in these cases?
And are there other translators being in the same situation?? I'm sure if they read this they know immediately which agency I'm talking about..

Thanks for any help,
Elisabeth
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:06
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Receivership Oct 25, 2011

Hi Elisabeth